Ausmini
It is currently Mon Apr 29, 2024 11:42 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours

PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2004 3:04 am 
1098cc
1098cc

I'm not good with electrics at all (not that I'm good with anything else) anyone tell me why on my MK2 fitted with an alternator (Lucas) and halogen headlight conversion and no other extra power devices apart from set of 2 100W driving lights.
WITH THE EXTRA DRIVING LIGHTS ON when you start reving it past 3500 in 2 or 3rd there is a loss of power the engine starts chocking and shaking, the moment you turn the lights off (only the extra driving lights not the headlights) its all back to normal again, lights on and she's chocking again. It seems reasonable that as the crank turns faster the dizzy needs more power, but should the effect of a single set of driving lights be so significant and immediate?

Now its clear that the alternator isnt coping, as you can see a dimming in the headlights, panel lights and courtesy light when the driving lights are on and the indicators where left usualy is faster than the right slow down significantly and work at the same speed. So shouldn't the alternator give me a bit more beyound one set of driving lights? And what's the best alt to fit in a mini to give the extra output?

Cheers

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2004 8:03 am 
848cc
848cc

The Lucas alternator should have no problems with running all the electrical system and the driving lights. It is probably on the way out. That or the regulator. The only way to solve this is to have your charge rate checked by an auto sparky. It only takes about 5 mins and they usually do it for nothing.

That way you will know where the problem lies. I had a lucas on my last mini running two sets of lights, no problem. My current mini also runs a lucas with no drama.

Bob

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2004 6:14 pm 
848cc
848cc